You are here:

Softball/Scoring Question


Hi Mark
Question about scoring.  Assume runners on first and second base no outs and the hitter lifts a shallow fly ball into left field which drops in front of the charging left fielder.  The runner on second base holds up because she isn't sure if it will be caught or not.  She is then forced out at third base because she didn't run immediately.  How do you score this for the hitter?  I say its a FC because the lead runner was forced out at third base even though it was clearly a base hit for the hitter.

Hi Andy,

I'm sorry....Instructions from the Expert:
Please tell me what game of softball your question pertains to.  Also please understand I am an umpire and not a scorer.  I only care if they are out or safe.  I do not have the expertise to answer scoring questions.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.