You are here:

Softball/ASA softball

Advertisement


Question
Dr. Mark Obstruction we protect runner between two bases obstructed occured. Runner obstructed between 2'nd and 3'rd.  He was thrown out at home, in my opinion he would have easily made it if not for the obstruction. Do we put him back on third, or is he out since he is past the base we protect him too?

Answer
Hi Jan,

There are 3 things we do with obstruction

1) by rule the runner cannot be out out between the bases they were obstructed (interference excepted)
2) We protect them to the base they would have made in our judgment had they not been obstructed
3)If they go past the base we would have protected them to, it is at there own risk.

In your case since your judgment was they would have made home had they not be obstructed,you protect them to that base, not just 3rd.

In this case the correct mechanic after the play is not to call out or safe but time, I have obstruction and the runner is awarded home.

Mark  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.