You are here:



What are the rules on bunting? 2 outs, at bat player with 2 strikes  hits a foul bunt then called out. Ump said out because you can't bunt on two strikes. I hadn't heard that before. Another ump said that's wrong, and not ASA rules. Please clarify?

Hi Michelle,

You certainly can bunt with 2 strikes however you are risking the following.  The 2nd opinion you asked for should next time come from a much more experienced knowledgeable umpire.  Tell them to study ASA 7-6-g "The batter is out....when the batter bunts foul after the 2nd strike."

It is a long standing basic rule of the game.


I might have read part of the q wrong....If the PU called the batter out simply for bunting w/ 2 strikes and NOT that because the bunt went foul and the 2nd opinion said that PU umpire was wrong the 2nd umpire would be correct that the PU was in error on that rule.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.