You are here:

Softball/coaches interference

Advertisement


Question
Our third baseman ran into the third base coach while running toward a catchable pop-up foul ball. The coach remained in her coaches box but did not make an attempt to move to avoid contact with our third baseman. What should the call have been?

Answer
Hi Terry,

The coaches box just like the batter's box is not a sanctuary.  A fielder must be given the opportunity to field a batted ball anywhere on the field /out being hindered. Without seeing it the chances are very, very high I would have a dead ball, interference and the batter is out.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.