You are here:

Softball/Slow pitch


Runner on 3rd. Batter hits ball that hits the bag (fair ball) Runner jumps off 3rd,couple steps into foul territory. Ball then hits the runner on the foot (who is clearly in foul territory). 3rd baseman is back behind the bag approx. 5 feet.

What is the correct call?


Hi Gregory,

ASA 8-8-e  

The runner is not out when a runner is hit by a fair untouched batted ball over foul foul territory that in the umpire's judgment no fielder had an opportunity to make an out.  

In your OP I would guess (w/out seeing it) that F5 had no opportunity to make an out so we just play on.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.