You are here:

Softball/Scoring a batter with a hit or fielders choice

Advertisement


Question
You have a runner on second and the batter hits the ball to the outfield. No catch is made, ball hits ground safely.  The runner on second advance to third and is thrown out.  Does the batter get awarded a hit or a fielders choice, since the runner is thrown out at third?

Answer
Jen,
Normally whenever you have a runner put out as a result of the at bat, you score a fielder's choice.  In your example I would score it a hit as long as there was nobody on first base.  This sounds like a single and a put out due to a base running mistake.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.