You are here:

Softball/Circle rule

Advertisement


Question
I get confused between the " look back" rule and the " circle " rule.  Concerning the " circle " rule can multiple runners be called out on 1 " circle " rule infraction or only one?

Answer
Hi Robert,

The look back rule and the circle rule are one in the same.  If a runner is off the base when the ball is returned to the circle, they may continue in the direction they were heading when the ball was returned to the circle.  The pitcher basically looks them to a base.  The runner does have the option of stopping once then immediately heading to a base, either direction.  If they hesitate (amount of time varies by umpire) they are called out.  If the pitcher makes a play or fakes a play, the runner is free to do as they please.  Just raising or starting to raise the throwing arm by the pitcher is enough to free the runner.

Just one runner can be called out.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.