You are here:

Softball/Fielders Choice or Base Hit?

Advertisement


Question
Hi Tom
Scenario 1 there is a runner on second base only no outs.  The hitter lifts a shallow fly ball into left field which drops in front of the left fielder no error.  The runner on second gets her lead and holds until she sees the ball drop in and then takes off for third base.  The left field throws her out at third base.  Hit of FC for the batter?

Scenario 2 runners on first and second base no outs.  The same situation where the hitter lifts a shallow fly ball into left field which drops in no error.  The runner on second hesitates to make sure the ball isn't caught then runs.  The left fielder throws her out at third base for the force out.  Again, hit or FC for the hitter?

Thanks
Andy

Answer
Scenario 1. Base hit, no penalty for the base running error.  The base running mistake was attempting to advance not the hesitation.

Secnario 2. Fielder's choice.  Anytime a batter hits the ball and a lead runner is forced out with no errors on the play you have a fielder's choice.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.