You are here:

Softball/Senior Softball Batter's Box


Dr. Ambrose:  B1 stands in batter's box with heal of the right foot outside the white outline of the box.  Pitch is made. B1 swings and gets a base hit.  The umpire calls B1 out for being outside the batter's box.  Was this the correct call?

Hi Gary,

It doesn't matter senior play or not the rule is the same.  Before the pitch the batter must be fully w/in the lines of the bb.  A foot may touch the line but no part of the foot may be outside the line.

That being said there is no provision in the rules to call the batter out.  The umpire should have instructed the batter to be fully in the box before allowing a pitch.  If the batter was called out for simply having part of the foot outside the lines of the bb prior to the pitch that is incorrect and subject to the "P" word.  

Only if the entire foot is outside of the lines on the ground or is touching hp when contact with the ball is made do we have a dead ball, out.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]