You are here:

Softball/Pitcher - present the ball

Advertisement


Question
For high school, does the pitcher have to present the ball before the pitch?  If yes, can you define "present" please.

Answer
The word present does not appear in the high school rule book in regards to pitching.  This question pops up here once a year or so.

The pitcher steps on the pitching plate with hands separated.  The ball can be in either hand.  The pitcher must then pause long enough to take a signal or simulate taking a signal before bringing the hands together to start the pitch.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.