You are here:

Softball/HS Softball interference

Advertisement


Question
Runner at 1st, grounder hit to 2nd, runner runs in front of fielder just as ball gets there, fielder bobbled the ball, do we have interference?

Answer
This does not sound like interference.  

To get the interference call on the initial play on the ball in the infield the runner bas to impede the movement of the fielder as the are moving to the ball.  Simply running in front of a stationary player does not constitute interference.

If the runner intentionally slows or otherwise try's to distract the fielder, you would have interference.  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.