You are here:

Softball/Removal of batting helmet

Advertisement


Question
High school, girls. Tie game, bottom of 7th, two outs bases empty. Batter hits ball over center field fence for "winning" run. As she rounds second base she removes her batting helmet and tosses it in the air in celebration. After she touches home plate, opposing coach approaches plate umpire. Moments later batter is declared out and run does not score. Ruling was that the batter/runner cannot purposely remove their helmet while running the bases.    Was this the correct call?

Answer
Hi Troy,

NO it was not and the "P" word should have come out immediately!!  You cannot remove your helmet during a "live ball" situation but this is a dead ball once it cleared the fence and entered dead ball territory.  The run should score.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.