You are here:

Softball/Tag-Up on Runner

Advertisement


Question
NFHS or ASA rules:

Live ball appeal:

Can a defensive player just tag a runner who left a base too early before they retreat to the base they had left early ?

Need the defense tag the base before the runner returns ?

Answer
When a runner has left the base early, they are assumed to have run the bases legally until an appeal is made and the umpire has ruled.

If the runner that left early is tagged while on a subsequent base they are not out.  The play must be appealed correctly.

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.