You are here:

Softball/balk in softball

Advertisement


Question
What happens if a pitcher ends up with a balk?  What happens to the runners and the batter?  My pitcher was losing her balance and had to place her hand back into her glove to regain her balance.  A balk was called.  The batter, who had 2 strikes and 0 balls, was awarded 1st and the runners on 2nd and 3rd were awarded 1 base. Was this the correct call?

Answer
Hi Kristin,

There is no such thing in softball as a "balk".  Nope, Nada, nothing even close.  I assume F1 had separated her hands and then brought them back together as she was losing her balance.

We have a ddb, an illegal pitch and since the pitch wasn't delivered (I assume), the only option is a ball on the batter and all runners are advance 1 base.  So the "P" word could have been used as there is no balk (mis-interp of the rules) and the award for an IP was incorrect.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.