You are here:

Softball/ASA mechanics


What are the correct ASA Slow Pitch mechanics on a caught FOUL fly ball?  Call "Out!" first?  Call "Foul Ball", then "Out!"?  Is it necessary/required to call "Foul Ball", as the status of Fair/Foul is unimportant once the fly ball is caught.

Hi Peter,

A verbal "foul" is not used if the ball is caught.  As soon as the ball is touched point with your left arm foul and then verbally call the out with an out sign.  You point first in case the ball is dropped esp into fair territory. you have already called if foul.

That's true it is just a caught fly ball that happened to be foul



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.