You are here:

Softball/overthrow base award


Men's over 40 slow pitch ASA rules.  Runner on first with fly ball to right center.  Ball is caught and fielder attempts throw to first to beat runner retreating back towards first bag.  Before runner reaches first base the ball goes past firstbaseman and out of play. umpire declares dead ball and awards the runner second base (runner did retouch first after ball out of play).  is this the correct base award in ASA play?  Prior to next pitch the batting team protests the runner only being allowed second.  does the protest have merit and what is the remedy?

Hi Rich,

In ASA and all other orgs. (exc 1) direction of the runner has no basis on the award.  It is 2 bases from the last base touched at the time of the throw.  

In this case the award is 3rd (after they legally retouch 1st) The umpire was incorrect and if "P"ed correctly as it seems from your OP, if the "P" team wins the "P" is cancelled.  If not the runner is awarded 3rd and the game restarts at that exact spot.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.