You are here:

Softball/Timing Play

Advertisement


Question
Here is the situation.

Based loaded, one out.  Batter lofts a long fly ball to right center where it caught.  The runner from third tags and scores.  The runner from first runs almost all the way to second.  The throw goes into first base where the runner is doubled off.  However, the runner on third crossed the plate before the third out is made.  The run was taken off the board.

I say  it is a timing play and run should have counted.  Their premise for not counting the run is that the runner on first didn't tag up.  What would tagging up have to do with anything anyway?

Answer
Hi Wayne,

You are absolutely correct, this is a timing play and NOT a force.  As long as R1 scores before the live ball appeal of R2 the run scores.  This is a very basic rule and a common softball situation.  The "P" word should have been brought out immediately.  Any umpire should know better.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.