You are here:

Softball/Pitchers Hands


Heather wrote at 2013-07-26 20:47:21
Can a fielder wear a batting glove while in the out field. I wear one because I have a skin condition that I want to protect my hands from the dirt. Was told to take it off last night in slow pitch wrote at 2013-07-28 13:41:17
yes, wrong ruling from the umpire,

please ask me qs in the q column, i don't check this very often




All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.