You are here:

Softball/batter protecting the base runner

Advertisement


sofballin wrote at 2013-02-19 01:46:00
The actual fake bunt attempt adds another level of disruption for the catcher.  Most coaches ask batters to swing through the pitch, so giving up a strike in this situation is not the issue.  If the batter is skilled, there is no risk of a pop up, or being called out for interference.  The batter will simply wave his bat over the top of the pitch while standing in the batter's box.  So long as the batter does not lean over, there is no risk of being called out.


Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Larry Antley

Expertise

I can answer coaching questions for Girls Fastpitch Softball. If you have a softball rule or ruling question please ask one of the expert umpire listed on this page.

Experience

18 years Coaching Fastpitch Softball
Certified Level I & II National Coaching School
Organizations
ASA/USA Softball Silver Coach
National Fastpitch Coaches Association

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.