You are here:

Softball/throwing the bat / throwing the catchers helmet


svemike wrote at 2016-04-05 03:05:48
ASA 2016 Rulebook  Rules Supplement #52  "Throwing or carrying a bat"   Can't figure how Dr Expert missed this??

drnmarka wrote at 2016-04-07 16:49:44
RS 52 pertains to throwing the bat in anger (if that is what you are talking about) and states a bat slipping from the hands is no penalty (ditto).  However SAFETY is primary and I had my knee cap broken by a very inexperienced co-ed player who continually and with great force had the bat "slip" from their hands.  The catcher almost had their head taken off by one.  The RS is intended that an "out" or "dead ball" or something similar is not called on that but USC certainly can for repeated instances where it causes a dangerous situation.  That how the DrExpect sees it.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.