You are here:

Softball/travesty of the game

Advertisement


BretMan wrote at 2007-04-05 03:13:09
This is one of my pet peeves and the sign of an ill-informed umpire.



There is ONE RULE and only ONE RULE that employs the term "making a travesty of the game". This rule applies ONLY to a runner who runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or to "make a travesty of the game".



The prescribed penalty for this infraction is to call the runner out, not an ejection.



The ASA rule is 8-3-D, in case you want to check.



Too many untrained umpires toss out the "travesty of the game" phrase as a blanket ruling to cover any action in a game that is out of the norm or something that isn't often seen. That's hogwash!



What this umpire told you is totally untrue. You were not making a "travesty of the game" in the sense that this term applies to the written rules, there is no rule that says you have to score on this play and there certainly is no rule to justify a forfeit for what you did.


T wrote at 2010-05-05 19:24:36
This same incident happened at our Men's game last week (ASA league).  The other team was up 27-8 and had a runner on 3rd base.  They had a base hit to the outfield, but purposely held the runner on 3rd base because scoring would have meant the run rule and the game would have been over.  The umpire stopped the game and said because of travesty of the game "that's it...you lose, and defensive team you win."  The team that was killing us, was automatically forfeited.  No one was happy with the outcome because even though we were given the win, we didn't earn it.  I understand the meaning behind the rule, to keep from taunting, or delaying the end of a game, but there should always be a warning given first before an ump forces a team to forfeit for a reason like that.  


Terry Charlton wrote at 2014-10-25 13:44:42
The purpose of not scoring on this play was clearly a case of prolonging the game! If the umpire had given a warning for similar actions than I think he would have been within his rights to call a forfeit.  


Terry Charlton wrote at 2014-10-25 13:56:53
I understand that the ballplayers want to get their "Moneys worth" when they play. However,once a warning has been given a umpire can forfeit a game for prolonging the game by not making plays. The use of the "Run Rule" is to stop the bleeding. Give a warning and than apply the penalty!


Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.