You are here:

Squash & Racquetball/Racquetball ball hits defensive player

Advertisement


Question
Offensive player is set up to hit the shot but feels the defensive player is too close and stops play to prevent injury, the ball then hits the defensive player. In this situation is it a play over or is it a point for the offensive player due to the ball ball hitting the defensive player.

Answer
Comes down to timing. If the offensive player calls hindrance/dead ball/etc for safety reason, it's (at THAT point) a dead ball. If the ball hits the defensive player AFTER the dead ball is called, it's a dead ball. You play the point over.

Any other Qs, let me know.

Rob

Squash & Racquetball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Rob Chabot

Expertise

Racquetball. Know all the rules, etiquette, etc. Am familiar with equipment and am active on the applicable newsgroups when I have time. I can be of service to players up to the "advanced" level. Have been playing since the mid 1980s. NOTE: I cannot answer questions on "what kind of racquet should I get?" This is like asking "what kind of dog or car should I get?" There are so many factors I do not know where to begin - how long have you been playing, do you prefer a top heavy or frame heavy racquet, how often do you plan on playing, etc. I recommend you find a pro shop that allows you to "demo" (borrow) racquets. You can usually borrow racquets for one to three days. A borrowing fee may be involved - and if you end up buying the racquet from that shop, it will usually credit you the loaner fees you have already paid against the purchase price of the racquet.

Experience

Won the Ohio State University Intramurals tournament ("A" Division) six out of six times entered.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.