Tennis/Change of ends
stan smith wrote at 2008-06-17 17:34:41
the answer given by Joe Rill is incorrect. If the 1st set ends in an odd number of games (6-3), players immediately change sides. Players will then change sides again after the first game of the 2nd set and every other game thereafter in that set.
Khotsosofo wrote at 2010-03-15 11:13:24
Correction to last post. Actually, if the score in games is odd at the end of a set, you change ends, and then change again after one game of the new set so that changing on the odd games is calculated from the current set, not the combined total of all sets.
HS2011 wrote at 2011-09-02 19:28:13
The answer above isn't quite right as he says that if the prior set ends in an odd number of games you would play two games in a set before changing. As the rule clearly states, you change ends in any one set "at the end of the first, third and every subsequent odd game of each set." So you switch based solely on the games in that set independent of prior sets.
The total number of games in a set is relevant to determine if you switch ends after the set ends or not. But should not be counted in future sets.
GK wrote at 2011-09-25 22:26:44
I think you have an error in your last paragraph. You state: " If the score in games of the first set was odd (6-1, 6-3, 7-6) you change immediately and play << two >> games from the new side before changing."
My understanding of the rule is if the score in the first set is odd, you change after that set, and then again after the FIRST game in the second set (and after the third, fifth, etc games in each set)
Kirkg wrote at 2013-03-18 02:07:50
I believe the last paragraph in the above answer has an error.
The sentence " You play the next two games from that side before changing again." is incorrect. Since that is the start of a new set, at the end of the first game, 1-0 in that set, players would change ends again.
So if a set ends with an odd number of games, or a tie-breaker, you change ends to start the next set, and again after the first game in that next set.
At least that would be my understanding.