You are here:

Yu-Gi-Oh/War Chariot Question


I play a Gladiator Beast deck that makes extensive use of Elemental Hero Prisma and a situation came to mind recently that I'm not exactly sure about.

With no monsters on the field and 1 War Chariot (which had been set during a previous turn) in my back-row I summon Prisma and activated his effect to turn him into Bestiari.  If my opponent happens to have an Effect Veiler in hand and chains it to Prisma can I chain War Chariot to Veiler?

My gut reaction is no because Prisma's effect hasn't had a chance to resolve yet, but I'm not 100% certain on that.

Your gut reaction is correct here. Prisma's name is still "Elemental Hero Prisma" until its effect successfully resolves.

As such, at the point that your opponent activates "Effect Veiler", you do not control a face-up "Gladiator Beast" monster and cannot activate "Gladiator Beast War Chariot".

Hope that helps.

(This question was answered from the Question Pool, and may not have been answered by the Expert you originally asked)


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




I'm able to answer any and all questions related to the English Yu-Gi-Oh! game itself. This includes, but isn't limited to:

Deck Fixes: Either making suggestions and improvements on a deck you've already built, or building a deck from scratch for you. In either case, please give an idea of the kind of deck you're building, the level of play you're planning to use it in (small tournaments, regionals etc), and the kind of budget you're on.
Please format decks in a way that's easy to read. Each card name should be on its own line, with a number before it indicating how many you're playing. Please split decks into Monsters, Spells and Traps.

NOTE: A level of reasonability is assumed with this. I cannot build you a nationals winning deck based on monsters whose name starts with the Letter 'A' on a budget of 4($6)... Nor will I generally respond well to Questions touting "No Xyz, Synchro... etc" or disallowing cards from certain parts of the show. I haven't seen the show in a number of years and find these conditions to usually be poorly-defined.

Rulings: On any card interacting with any other card(s). Tell me the scenario, and I'll tell you what happens.

I won't be answering questions on whether a trade is fair or not, or on how much X-card is worth, as both these kinds of question can be answered by using Ebay's completed listings page.


Level 2 Judge Qualification,
Level 1 Player Management Qualification,
Konami Rules Certification 1,
Regularly Head Judges Local Events,
Tournament Wins/Top 8 placements too numerous to detail here

BSc (Hons) Degree in Mathematics

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]