You are here:

Yu-Gi-Oh/Zoma the Spirit Ruling

Advertisement


Question
Hey,
I was playing my brother in a traditional game; he had four monsters on the field, while I only had one(Dark Magician). I used Dark Magician(equipped with Magic Formula) to attack one of his monster cards(Despair from the Dark).  He then activated Zoma The Spirit(Trap card).  First Question: Does my attack automatically get redirected at Zoma?  Second Question: is it correct though that I can stop my attacking monster since a new monster was implemented by the "Replay" rules in the official rulebook?  Third question:  If the "Replay" rules apply, then am I able to still attack the original monster(Despair from the Dark) I wished my Dark Magician to attack since the rulebook states to "reselect attack target" if I wish to still attack with Dark Magician?

Answer
Short answers: No, Yes, Yes.

Long Answers:

Firstly:
Zoma the Spirit doesn't say anywhere on it "Your Opponent can only target this monster for attacks" so what you attack it with (or if you attack it at all) is entirely your choice.
(The somewhat odd rule that putting a new monster into play forces your opponent to attack it is only in effect during the TV show, and does not feature in the rules of the actual game)

Secondly:
The Replay rule comes into effect whenever the number of monsters the Defending Player controls changes during the Attacking Player's Battle Phase (So if you're attacking and his monsters change, or if he's attacking and your monsters change).
In this case, the Turn player is able to select a new attack target for his/her monster, or not to attack at all with that monster. (If a replay occurs on your Dark Magician's attack then you cannot attack with another monster first and with Dark Magician later, Dark Magician must attack when the replay occurs if he is to attack at all)

Thirdly:
A combination of the above 2 points, when the Replay Rule occurs the Attacking player may choose which of his monsters his attacker attacks. This can be the same monster it attacked before, or a completely new target.
So Yes, Dark Magician can still attack Despair from the Dark.

Hope that helps.

Yu-Gi-Oh

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Exo

Expertise

I'm able to answer any and all questions related to the English Yu-Gi-Oh! game itself. This includes, but isn't limited to:

Deck Fixes: Either making suggestions and improvements on a deck you've already built, or building a deck from scratch for you. In either case, please give an idea of the kind of deck you're building, the level of play you're planning to use it in (small tournaments, regionals etc), and the kind of budget you're on.
Please format decks in a way that's easy to read. Each card name should be on its own line, with a number before it indicating how many you're playing. Please split decks into Monsters, Spells and Traps.

NOTE: A level of reasonability is assumed with this. I cannot build you a nationals winning deck based on monsters whose name starts with the Letter 'A' on a budget of 4($6)... Nor will I generally respond well to Questions touting "No Xyz, Synchro... etc" or disallowing cards from certain parts of the show. I haven't seen the show in a number of years and find these conditions to usually be poorly-defined.

Rulings: On any card interacting with any other card(s). Tell me the scenario, and I'll tell you what happens.

I won't be answering questions on whether a trade is fair or not, or on how much X-card is worth, as both these kinds of question can be answered by using Ebay's completed listings page.

Experience

Level 2 Judge Qualification,
Level 1 Player Management Qualification,
Konami Rules Certification 1,
Regularly Head Judges Local Events,
Tournament Wins/Top 8 placements too numerous to detail here

Education/Credentials
BSc (Hons) Degree in Mathematics

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.